

Town of Aurora Special Meeting of Council Minutes

Date: Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Time: 6:15 p.m.

Location: Video Conference

Council Members: Mayor Mrakas

Councillor Gaertner
Councillor Gallo
Councillor Gilliland
Councillor Humfryes

Councillor Kim

Councillor Thompson

Other Attendees: Doug Nadorozny, Chief Administrative Officer

David Waters, Director of Planning and Development

Services

Nick Kazakoff, Economic Development Officer

Patricia De Sario, Town Solicitor Michael de Rond, Town Clerk

Samantha Yew, Deputy Town Clerk

Linda Bottos, Council/Committee Coordinator

1. Procedural Notes

This meeting was held electronically as per Section 19. i) of the Town's Procedure By-law No. 6228-19, as amended, due to the COVID-19 situation.

This meeting served as the Annual General Meeting of the Aurora Economic Development Corporation.

The Mayor called the meeting to order at 6:28 p.m.

2. Approval of the Agenda

Moved by Councillor Thompson **Seconded by** Councillor Kim

That the agenda as circulated by Legislative Service be approved.

Carried

3. Declarations of Pecuniary Interest and General Nature Thereof

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest under the *Municipal Conflict of Interest Act, R.S.O.* 1990, c. M.50.

4. Delegations

None.

5. Consideration of Items Requiring Discussion

5.1 PDS20-063 - Aurora Economic Development Corporation Annual Report 2019

Tim Hammill, Chair, Board of Directors, Aurora Economic Development Corporation (AEDC), presented background on the AEDC and its Board of Directors, including a timeline of activities, the development of an Economic Development Strategic Plan, the mission, and recent activities.

Moved by Councillor Humfryes **Seconded by** Councillor Gaertner

- 1. That Report No. PDS20-063 be received; and
- That the Aurora Economic Development Corporation's Director's Report attached hereto as Attachment 1 be received; and
- 3. That the requirements regarding the appointment and duties of the auditor be exempted for the financial year; and
- 4. That Council appoint the following two (2) individuals to the Aurora Economic Development Corporation (AEDC) Board of Directors for a term of three years:
 - Michael Hardman
 - Thai Pham; and
- 5. That Council approve a special resolution passed by the AEDC Board of Directors to increase the number of local residents or business

owners to nine and to decrease the number of Council representatives to two.

On a recorded vote the motion Carried

Yeas: 6 Nays: 1

Voting Yeas: Councillors Gaertner, Gilliland, Humfryes, Kim,

and Thompson, Mayor Mrakas

Voting Nays: Councillor Gallo

6. Confirming By-law

6.1 By-law No. 6285-20 Being a By-law to confirm actions by Council resulting from a Special Meeting of Council on October 6, 2020

Moved by Councillor Gaertner **Seconded by** Councillor Humfryes

That the confirming by-law be enacted.

Carried

7. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Kim Seconded by Councillor Gaertner

That the meeting be adjourned at 6:49 p.m.

Carried

Tom Mrakas, Mayor	Michael de Rond, Town Clerk