

100 John West Way Aurora, Ontario L4G 6J1 (905) 727-3123 aurora.ca

Town of Aurora

Member Motion

Councillor Weese

Re:	Opposition to Bill 17, Protect Ontario by Building Faster and Smarter Act, 2025
То:	Members of Council
From:	Councillor Ron Weese
Date:	July 15, 2025

Whereas Ontario Bill 17 (the legislation) was granted Royal Assent on June 5, 2025; and

Whereas the legislation raises significant concerns related to democratic governance, environmental sustainability, municipal autonomy, and social equity; and

Whereas the legislation centralizes decision-making authority and reduces the power of local municipalities in planning and development approvals; and

Whereas the legislation curtails public consultation rights, limiting residents' ability to influence projects impacting their neighbourhoods; and

Whereas the legislation accelerates approvals by reducing time for environmental assessments, heritage evaluations, and public safety considerations that could result in substandard buildings, strained infrastructure and negative long-term effects on communities; and

Whereas the legislation threatens green spaces, natural habitats, and water resources overlooking careful measures that allows sustainable growth and undermines Ontario's commitment to environmental stewardship; and

Whereas the legislation limits public hearings and community engagement opportunities, which increases the risk of corruption, favouritism and poor local planning decisions;

- 1. Now Therefore Be It Hereby Resolved That Aurora Town Council officially opposes Ontario Bill 17 in its current form, and recommends;
  - Restoring municipal autonomy, and ensuring meaningful consultation and decision-making power;

- Maintaining rigorous environmental, safety, and heritage assessments despite expedited timelines;
- Incorporating clear affordable housing requirements within new developments;
- Enhancing transparency, public engagement and accountability mechanisms;
- Ensuring climate change mitigation is included in all development projects; and
- Be It Further Resolved That this Motion be forwarded to all 444 Ontario Municipalities, Hon. Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario, and Hon. Rob Flack, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing.